Punniamoorthy Ravirajan, Professor in Physics, Department of Physics, University of Jaffna

Punniamoorthy Ravirajan received a doctorate degree in Physics at Imperial College, University of London in 2004 under a Commonwealth Postgraduate Scholarship (Open Competition) scheme. After a postdoctoral period at Imperial College, Dr.P.Ravirajan returned to University of Jaffna, Sri Lanka, where he was promoted from Lecturer to senior lecturer and then full professor in Physics in 2005 and 2009, respectively.



Prof.P.Ravirajan won research grants over 30 million rupees (~USD 200,000) from National (NRC, NSF) and International (IFS, Sweden & RS, UK) institutions for more than six different research projects in the field of Nanoscience and established well equipped research laboratory for fabricating and characterizing Nanostructured Solar cells at the University of Jaffna despite of unsettled condition prevailed in Jaffna Peninsula until 2009. He established international research collaboration with several leading universities or research institutions such as Imperial College London, Edinburgh University, UK, University of Illinois at Chicago, USA, Kyungpook National University, South Korea and University of Bergen, Norway.

Prof.P.Ravirajan won three national awards such as **CVCD Excellence Award** - **for the most Outstanding Young Researcher in Physical Sciences** for the Year 2006, **Presidential Awards for Excellence in Research** for five years and **Young Scientist Award** for the Year 2008 by SCOPUS, Elsevier Publisher, The Netherlands and NSF. Further, he won a few prestigious international awards such as Postgraduate Scholarship (2001–2004) Awards, UK, Royal Society Visiting Fellowship (2006), Commonwealth Fellowship (2014) and **Prof.P.Ravirajan** published over seventy research publications which include high impact factor journal articles which have been cited by his fellow scientists in more than **1800** in indexed journal articles so far. He served as Head/Physics for two terms and has been serving as Director/Staff Development Centre since 2012.